CSE boosts board with appointment of four new Trustees

17 October 2018

Following an open and competitive recruitment process, the Centre for Sustainable Energy has appointed four new Trustees to join its board. 

  • Dr Jane Dennett-Thorpe, Interim Operations Director at the Thomas Ashton Institute for Risk and Regulatory Research, University of Manchester.
  • William Gillis, retired, former Managing Director of Warm Zones CIC and, prior to that, Chief Executive of National Energy Action. 
  • Felicity Jones, Partner for Energy Storage and Flexibility at Everoze, the sustainable energy engineering and strategy consultancy.
  • Shantha Shanmugalingam, Europe Commercial Director at Dyson.  

Anne Obey, Chair of CSE’s Board of Trustees, welcomed the new appointments: “We’re delighted to be adding the knowledge, skills and experience of these four talented people to our Board. They will contribute new insights and provide fresh perspectives, helping to ensure that the Board continues to deliver sound governance for the charity and provide the executive team with important support and challenge.”

The new Trustees commented on their appointments.

Jane Dennett-Thorpe said: “I’ve been impressed by CSE’s work over the years – its intellectual and practical leadership. I look forward to contributing to its continuing work to find solutions which address both the social and environmental aspects of the energy-related challenges we face”.

William Gillis explained: “CSE is a charity I’ve long admired so I’m keen to offer my experience and knowledge in a non-executive capacity to help the organisation address the challenges ahead.”

Felicity Jones said: “I’m excited by the opportunity to act as a ‘critical friend’, providing questions and challenges to help ensure that CSE continues to have maximum impact in promoting sustainability and social justice.”

Shantha Shanmugalingam commented: “Becoming a Trustee is an incredible opportunity to help the teams at CSE deliver on its compelling vision for energy use and justice.”

For more details about the new and existing Trustees, click here

Dr Brenda Boardman MBE and Professor Catherine Mitchell have both stepped down as Trustees as from 4 October and will now be acting as advisors to the Board and staff team. Dr Andrew Garrad CBE retired as a Trustee in March 2018. Anne Obey said: “We’re delighted that Brenda and Catherine are maintaining their involvement with CSE, bringing their deep knowledge of different aspects of sustainable energy policy and practice directly into the organisation.”

Sorry, no matching content found.

Stay up to date with our work - sign up for our fortnightly newsletter